April and May ‘16: Season End

Hi Everyone!

I’m back with my next update, I decided to cover these months together as there was only one Premier League match and the possibility of three more Champions League games, in this I will cover all my fixtures, tables, news and of course we’ll see what happened in my second leg against Manchester Utd in the Champions League.

Fixtures

Now let’s see my predictions for the month ahead.

fixtures

Hopefully we can wrap up the Premier League before the three harder fixture to end the season, we should but we could suffer from burnout like Man U two seasons ago.I don’t want to have to do an AGGGGUUUUUEEEEEROOOO moment against Arsenal. I’m optimistic in saying that we’ll draw with United in our 5th game against them this season then maybe go through on penalties or away goals.

Southampton vs Norwich

First up in April was a game against the Canaries,

vs norwich 2

Good win, now to focus on the Champions League.

Southampton vs Man Utd

Hello this is Jeff Stelling  and we are covering today’s Champions League quarter final second leg of Southampton vs Man Utd, these are the last 2 British representatives in the Champions League, but one of them is going out, with me I have former Manchester Utd and current Reading manager, Steve Bruce and also I have  former Southampton and current Swansea player, Adam Lallana. What are your thoughts lads?

AL: Well I think that we can cause an upset, Jay and Dougie are bang in form and well I don’t see Man U doing well without Rooney, though Neymar is a classy forward.

SB: I have to disagree, Vincenzo Montella has done a bang up job since Sir Alex Fergurson retired, it is hard to replace my mentor but I reckon he’s made his mark in signing players like Neymar who will be crucial in this tie. It is players like him who will let us through to the semi final.

And now we are live with Martin Tyler.

Thank you Jeff and the teams are out and we kick off now.

21st minute: Oooh. That’s unfortunate for Southampton as Jay Rodriguez breaks down mid-dribble, looks like a torn hamstring. On comes Ferreyra in his place.

40th minute: Header on by Inler to Neymar, he’s making a great run here, past Burdisso and he’s scored, precise finish under the keeper.

51st minute: Rash foul there, it’s a yellow for Neymar.

65th minute: Goal, Ferreyra has scored a header fro- it’s been disallowed, they can’t believe it, it’s given by the 5th official for a foul on De Gea  by Costa.

76th minute: It’s a great run by Alaba, what a great cross, and who else but Neymar is on the end of it. A simple tap in for Brazil’s number 10.

90 + 2: This is it, the end of this thrilling game, Manchester United the victors, 2-0.

vs manchester united 5

Burnley vs Southampton

I wanted to recover from the loss in mid-week to win against Burnley and end the season with a bang.

vs burnley 2

… This was disapointing, losing to Burnley. I wouldn’t have minded if it was thems99’s side but still, to Burnley.

Southampton vs Fulham

I want to end with a bang and win the title so we have to win this, get the season over with so we can focus on strengthening in the summer and get some form otherwise we will be smashed in the next few games.

vs fulham 2

get in

Great way to win the league. Smashing Fulham 6-0! Can’t believe that we won the league after just 4 seasons!

Southampton vs Liverpool

Didn’t really care about the next few matches so I played younger players and started to relax.

vs liverpool 3

Good draw, one of the prospects I talked about in the last post scored so I’m pleased.

Manchester City vs Southampton

Again I just wanted a decent showing as we had clinched the title.

vs manchester city 3

Good showing from the lads to get the job against the Citizens.

Arsenal vs Southampton

We would lift the Premier League trophy whatever happens so I just played a random side.

vs arsenal 2

Good draw and the season is finally over! We ended well with a four match unbeaten run so that was good considering our opponents.

Here is the overview;

results

A kind of rollercoaster month, knocked out of the quarter finals of the Champions League then winning the title, so in the end a good month and a bit; here is the table now

Table

league end

Blackburn and Leicester went straight back down and Norwich had 5th season syndrome. Winking smile. Arsenal ended their Champions League places streak and Chelsea had a disappointing season finishing 7th. In the end our double figure margin became only 6 points but still 12 over Tottenham in 3rd.

Before I go on, I’ve realised that I haven’t updated you on Chile’s progress under me so here it is.

International

Here are the results and my latest squad, see if you think I’m doing well.

chile results

We are 2nd in the World Cup qualifiers behind Brazil on goal difference.

Chile squad

Chile squad 2

If you want specific player screenshots, just ask!

End of Season Review

First here are the fan’s confidence in me and my job security;

confidence

I’m untouchable! Everything is above 50% and it’s looking peachy!

man city job offer

Also after our win this appeared! Of course I rejected though it would have been great to have so much money to spend but who cares, we won the title, money will pour in now!

Now my player of the season had to be one player with a league average of 8.12 and overall average of 7.95, 9 goals and a staggering 12 Man of the Match-es, the one, the only

D

While his attributes don’t scream out at you, you can’t argue with the stats. He is quick, strong, good in the air and just a tank! He was also fans’ player of the year !

I was manager of the year;

MOY

72% win percentage was incredible, I was 800 points ahead of Montella in second.

James Ward-Prowse won footballer of the year .

FOY

Erik Lamela came third in the young player of the year behind Alaba and Jack Wilshere.

YPOY

Also here is the season summary for the Premier League (I will do a post about the world’s happenings later along with my retrospective)

season summary

James Ward-Prowse was our leading goal scorer with 15 goals whilst Douglas Costa had 13 assists to be our leading assister.

And I think that’s it for this post. Whew! It has been a mammoth of a post to write and I’ve done. Expect another post by Saturday.

Thanks for Reading

saintsboy

3 thoughts on “April and May ‘16: Season End

  1. AWWWW! I GOT A MENTION! MY LIFE IS COMPLETE!
    cough cough sorry my weird side took over there. Both of us did it in four seasons 😀

      • Ok yes, I suppose. Funnily enough we both got champions league qualification for season 4 haha. And guess who also got offered the city job after being confirmed champions. So much is similar it is hilarious.

Leave a comment